Article Detail

19-year old Shubman Gill has been rewarded for his performances by the selectors as he will lead India Blue in Duleep Trophy to be played in Bengaluru from 17th August to 8th September.

In a press release on the BCCI website, the All-India Senior Selection Committee yesterday announced the squads for Duleep Trophy 2019-20. While Shubman will lead India Blue, Faiz Fazal and Priyank Panchal were given the captaincy of India Green and India Red.

Shubman is currently a part of the India A squad in West Indies. Gill helped India A win the unofficial ODI series 4-1. Shubman scored 10, 62, 77, 69 in the four matches he played and was named player of the series.

Earlier, Shubman Gill missed the bus for India's senior team for West Indies tour but is in the waiting list, as quoted by MSK Prasad. His selection in the Duleep Trophy squad and that too as a captain is going to test the right-hander's leadership quality.

Along with Shubman, KKR’s right-arm medium fast bowler Sandeep Warrier will play under Priyank Panchal for India Red. Warrier who was called in to replace Navdeep Saini in India A line-up. He helped the visitors win their second unofficial Test against West Indies A and finished the match with five wickets.

Here's how the three squads look for Duleep Trophy 2019-20:

India Blue - Shubman Gill (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajat Patidar, Ricky Bhui, Anmolpreet Singh, Ankeet Bawne, Snell Patel (WK), Shreyas Gopal, Saurabh Kumar, Jalaj Saxena, Tushar Deshpande, Basil Thampi, Aniket Chouhdary, Diwesh Pathania, Ashutosh Amar

India Green - Faiz Fazal (C), Akshath Reddy, Dhruv Shorey, Siddhesh Lad, Priyam Garg, Akshdeep Nath, Rahul Chahar, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Ishan Porel, Tanveer-Ul-Haq, Akshay Wadkar (WK), Rajesh Mohanty, Milind Kumar

India Red - Priyank Panchal (C), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Ishan Kishan (WK), Hapreet Singh Bhatia, Mahipal Lomror, Aditya Sarwate, Akshay Wakhare, Varun Aaron, Ronit More, Jaydev Unadkat, Sandeep Warrier, Ankit Kalsi