Kolkata Knight Riders' dynamic opener Shubman Gill and pace sensation Prasidh Krishna have been named in the India squad for the two-match Test series against New Zealand, starting from November 25th at Kanpur.

Recently, another Knight Venkatesh Iyer received his maiden India call-up when he was included in the 16-member T20I squad that is slated to play the Kiwis from November 17th in the shorter format.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in the first Test in absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli and the newly-appointed T20I captain Rohit Sharma, who have been rested as part of BCCI’s workload management policy. Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested as well.

BCCI, in a statement, said, "Virat Kohli will join the squad for the second Test and will lead the team.”

India’s Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Prasidh Krishna, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj.