Article Detail

After disappointing performances in the last four outings, Kolkata Knight Riders will look to bounce back in their next league game against Punjab Kings at Ahmedabad. The boys in Purple and Gold have a spectacular head-to-head record of winning 18 games in the 27 matches played so far against Punjab.

Languishing at the bottom of the table, Knight Riders will look to step up in the batting department. Lack of consistent performances from the top order has been hurting the fortunes of the side. The team would also look up to skipper Eoin Morgan to deliver with the bat. With years of international experience under his belt, the southpaw is a vital cog in the middle order for the side.

The bowling unit looked slightly settled with the inclusion of Shivam Mavi in the clash against the Rajasthan Royals. The youngster was consistent with his line and length and troubled the batsmen with his pace and swing inside the powerplay.

With Varun Chakaravarthy and Sunil Narine shouldering the responsibility of the side in the spin department, the bowling attack looks in safe hands. But they will need to be more aggressive in getting crucial breakthroughs to choke their opponents.

Meanwhile, Punjab Kings are coming into this game riding high on confidence after beating Mumbai Indians. A clinical performance with the ball helped the team restrict the defending champions for a below-par score in the first innings. The likes of Moises Henriques and Md Shami created a lethal pace  combination while Ravi Bishnoi impressed with his effective legbreak.

In the batting department, the team has one of the most destructive top orders with KL Rahul and Chris Gayle. Along with Mayank Agarwal, the duo have been in fine form and the team would look to capitalise on the same.


KKR Squad list:

Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert, Rahul Tripathi, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun CV, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna, Shakib Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Karun Nair, Harbhajan Singh, Ben Cutting, Venkatesh Iyer, Pawan Negi 

PBKS Squad list:

KL Rahul (c/wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Darshan Nalkande, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen , Saurabh Kumar.