The Vivo IPL 2019 came to a thrilling end as Mumbai Indians bagged their fourth title, defeating Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in the final in Hyderabad last night.

Despite playing a few matches lesser than the players involved in the qualifiers, the Jamaican all-rounder Andre Russell's record of most number of sixes and his consistency throughout the season paved his way for a couple of awards which Shubman Gill, named the Emerging Player of the season, picked up on his behalf.

Harrier Super Striker of the Season
Dre Russ scored 510 runs in 13 innings at an amazing strike rate of 204.81, the best by any player in IPL 2019. Hardik Pandya (191.42) was close till the final, but his 16 runs from 10 balls last night didn't help him go past our Knight's spectacular strike rate. Russell’s ability to attack the bowlers and maintaining his temperament at the same time was something that stood out quite well.

The Six Machine
There were a total of 143 sixes hit by Kolkata Knight Riders before the start of the playoffs, 33 more than the second placed KXIP. The Jamaican allrounder was relishing the form of his life and hit 1/3rd of the team sixes with 52 to his name this season, well ahead of Chris Gayle (34) in as many innings (13). Russell’s maximum sixes in an innings came against RCB with 9 of them and his longest one being 98 metres.

Most Valuable Player of the Season
Matches: 14
Innings:         13
Runs: 510
Average:         56.66
Strike Rate: 204.81
50s:                4
High Score: 80*
4s/6s: 31/52

Dot balls bowled: 61
Wickets:         11

The above stats tells us the massive impact of Dre Russ in most of KKR's victories. So whether it was chasing down 53 runs in the last three overs twice (vs SRH & RCB) in the tournament or helping the team put up a fighting total (185/8 vs DC) after a bad start (61/5), Dre Russ delivered every time he was sent on a mission.

The most trusted player from the two-time champion KKR was also the most consistent player of the season. With 369 points, he was also awarded the most valuable player of the season award for the second time in his IPL career (He last won it in 2015).