On Sunday, when Shikhar Dhawan walks out for the toss against Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo, he will be the 25th Indian captain to lead in the ODI format of the game.

Over the years, India has produced high-quality leaders who have transformed the game with their style of captaincy and created an immediate impact.

Our former Knight and skipper Gautam Gambhir captained the Indian team in six ODIs and has successfully guided them to some famous wins. The left-hander was first handed his captaincy debut in 2010 against New Zealand. Gambhir led the team well and helped them register a clean sweep in the series by winnings all five games.


Let us take a look at the record of the last three captains of the India side and their records:

Virat Kohli

One of the greatest batsmen in the modern era, Virat Kohli, first made his captaincy debut in 2013 against Sri Lanka after MS Dhoni was ruled out of the game due to an injury.

In 2017, he was appointed as the skipper of the side in all formats of the game and has led India to 65 wins in 95 ODI matches.

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane made his captaincy debut against Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club Stadium in July 2017. Despite not being a regular feature of the Indian side in the white-ball format, the team has played three matches under his astute leadership and won all of them.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma accounted for a dismal start to his captaincy career as the Indian team lost the first game against Sri Lanka by eight wickets in 2017.

Despite the stutter, the Indian team bounced back to clinch the final two games and win the series 2-1. The Mumbai batsman has captained the side in 10 matches with eight wins and two losses.