Article Detail

After donning the T20I skipper's hat, Rohit Sharma has now been appointed as the new ODI captain too for the Indian national team, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday while releasing the squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked an 18-member squad for the upcoming 3-match Test series against the Proteas, starting from 26th December 2021. The Test series will form a part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship. India also play 3 ODIs as part of the tour.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward," read the BCCI statement.

Rohit also replaced Ajinkya Rahane as the vice captain of the Test side and will assist Virat Kohli, who continues to be the India skipper for the longer format.

BCCI also informed that Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Rahul Chahar have been unavailable for selection due to injuries as they are undergoing rehabilitation currently.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.