Two-time runners-up Indian women will open their Cricket World Cup 2022 campaign with a match against Pakistan, as per official fixtures announced by International Cricket Council on Wednesday.

Indian women, who ended up as finalists in the last edition of the mega event, will lock horns with their arch-rivals at Bay Oval Tauranga on March 6th, while hosts New Zealand get to play West Indies in the opening encounter on March 4. The final has been scheduled on 3rd April at Christchurch.

The World Cup was supposed to be held last year in February-March but was posponed indefinitely due to the Covid 19 outbreak. In absence of the qualifiers, India along with Australia, England and South Africa made the cut to the premium event on the basis of their position in ICC Women's Championship 2017-20.

The tournament will follow the league format in the initial stage, followed by semi-finals and final. Both semi-finals and final have got a reserve day each.

India's schedule:

Nz vs Ind - 10th March
Eng vs Ind - 16th March
Ind vs Aus - 19th March
Ind vs Ban - 22nd March
Ind vs SA - 27th March