Article Detail

Dre Russ’ blitz (48* from 13 balls) scripted another perfect chase as Kolkata Knight Riders chased 205 runs in 19.1 overs and handed the home side their fifth loss in a row in Vivo IPL 2019.

Earlier, Dinesh Karthik won the toss and chose to field first. Sunil Narine returned to the playing eleven. Kohli also made a few changes. Tim Southee replaced Shimron Hetmyer, while Pawan Negi came in for Umesh Yadav.

During RCB’s innings, Kohli was at his vintage best. With Parthiv Patel, the pair added 64 runs for the first wicket. Nitish Rana was asked to bowl the eighth over and the Knight with the golden arm didn't disappoint his skipper as he trapped Parthiv plumb in front of the wickets.

AB de Villers joined the RCB skipper in the middle. The two added 108 runs for the 2nd wicket before Kuldeep and Narine sent both Kohli (84) and De Villers (63) back to the dug-out in two successive overs. Marcus Stoinis late blitz took RCB to 205 for 3 in 20 overs.

KKR also had a flying start with 17 runs coming in the very first over. Narine was the first wicket to fall when the score was 28 for 1 after two overs. Robin Uthappa kept the momentum going before holing one straight to Southee off Pawan Negi's bowling. Negi who was getting some spin cleaned-up Lynn for 43 in his following over with the scoreboard reading 108/3 in 11 overs.

Nitish Rana played a few glorious shots. As the asking rate went high, the pressure got the better off Rana as he sliced one straight to Klaasen off Chahal's bowling.

Rana's dismissal brought the man in form Andre Russell to the crease with 66 runs needed off 24 balls. The Jamaican was asked to do unthinkable and boy oh boy he once again was up for it. 

23 runs came from Siraj-Stoinis' 18th over! 29 from Tim Southee's 19th - BOOOOOM! Shubman’s single in the first bowl of the last over saw KKR complete their most successful chase ever with five wickets and five balls in hand.

The Knights have one day to recover as we'll play Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur on Sunday April 7.

Score Summary:
RCB: 205 for 3 in 20 Overs (Kohli 84, De Villers 63, Rana 1/22)
KKR: 206 for 5 in 19.1 Overs (Russell 48*, Rana 37, Negi 2/21)
KKR won by 5 wickets