Article Detail

A dismal batting performance from Team India paved the way for Sri Lanka to clinch the 3-match T20I series 2-1 following their 7-wicket win in the last match at R Premadasa Stadium on Thursday.

Chasing 82 runs for a win, Dhananjaya de Silva (23*) and Wanindu Hasaranga (14*) remained unbeaten to see their side home with 5.3 overs to spare. Rahul Chahar (3/15) was the pick of the Indian bowlers.

Earlier, the Sri Lankan spinners - especially Hasaranga - wreaked havoc on the Indian batters. Hasaranga, who turned 24 years old on Thursday, picked the best ever figures (4/9) by any player on his birthday. The Lankans were absolutely stunning in the field as well, pulling off low, diving catches to add to India's agony.

India experienced an early blow when skipper Shikhar Dhawan was sent back for a golden duck. Dedutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson and Ruturaj Gaikward perished within a matter of just two runs. Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka took an incredible return catch to dimiss Nitish Rana next and expose India's bottom half.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (16) tried to stick around for a while but India failed to gather any momentum to post a strong total. Shanka took another blinder at mid off to send back Bhuvneshwar. Kuldeep Yadav with an unbeaten 23 was the highest scorer of the Indian innings, which was restricted to 81/8.